Receive Email Updates

Enter your email address to receive heritage updates

 
Document Actions

Wiley Rock School

Built in 1938 through the Works Progress Administration (WPA), the historic Wiley Rock Schoolhouse, is a lasting monument to the local people and others whose lives were improved by the employment provided by this federal program. WPA projects focused on using local labor and inexpensive materials. Native sandstone slabs from grassland areas near the river cover the recycled concrete block that forms the interior walls. The curb and stairways were constructed of locally quarried sandstone. The project also included curbing and gutters for Wiley's three main streets. Witness the success of this project in the creative masonry, craftsmanship, and enduring functionality of these structures.

603 Main Street
WileyCO  81092
(719) 829-4475


Hours of Operation
Open by appointment. Call Marilyn Weber, 719-829-4475.
Directions
From Lamar take US Hwy 50 to US Hwy 287. Drive approximately 2 miles north and turn east (right) onto 7th Street. Drive 2 blocks to Main (CO Hwy 196) and turn south. Wiley Rock Schoolhouse is located on the west side of Main, between 7th and 6th Streets.
Visitor Services
Parking
Designations
National Register Individual Listing
Travel Tips
Lodging and larger restaurants are located in Lamar, some 10 miles southeast of Wiley.
Entrance Fees
Free




Home | Our Supporters | Other Heritage Regions | Sitemap | Contact Us | Privacy Policy and Disclaimer |
   © 2010 Southeast Colorado Heritage

Colorado Journeys